
 

 

 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
 

Ohio Department of Agriculture Offers Tips for Purchasing Firewood 
 

REYNOLDSBURG, Ohio (Nov. 3, 2008) – With cold temperatures arriving soon, cost-
conscious Ohioans will be looking to save money on heating expenses. For many, the solution is 
burning firewood. Officials at the Ohio Department of Agriculture (ODA) – responsible for 
enforcing Ohio’s firewood laws – remind Ohioans to follow some basic tips when purchasing 
wood to heat their homes.  
 
It is important for consumers to know firewood rules and regulations prior to a purchase.  
 

• If firewood is advertised and sold as “seasoned,” it must have a moisture content of less 
than 50 percent. “Unseasoned” wood will only produce two-thirds of the heat of 
“seasoned” wood. 

 
• If the firewood is advertised and sold as a certain type of wood, the load must contain at 

least 90 percent of that species.  
 

• Non-packaged firewood must be sold by the cord or by fractions of a cord. One cord, 
when properly stacked, should be 8 feet long by 4 feet high and 4 feet wide (128 cubic 
feet). 

 
• If sold in bulk, firewood must be purchased by the weight in ton measurements. This 

must be weighed on a certified scale.  
 

• It is illegal to sell firewood by any other unit of measurement such as a rick, rack, face 
cord, or truckload. If a consumer believes that a seller did not comply with these rules 
and regulations, the person should immediately contact the seller.  

 
• If non-packaged firewood is purchased, the seller must present the consumer with a 

delivery ticket or sales invoice that includes contact information and the terms and 
conditions of the sale. 

 
Consumers should also be aware that firewood is often home to invasive insects, and when 
moved, contributes to the spread of these pests. As a result, 44 infested counties in the state have 
been placed under Emerald Ash Borer quarantine. Firewood cannot be moved out of this 
quarantine area, and according to law, violators face fines up to $4,000. For a map of Ohio’s 
quarantined counties as well a detailed explanation of the quarantine, visit 
www.ohioagriculture.gov/eab or call 1-888-OHIO-EAB. 
 



 

 

If a problem occurs with a firewood sale, and the seller will not correct the problem, consumers 
should contact the ODA Division of Weights and Measures at 1-800-282-1955 or contact their 
local weights and measures inspector located in their county’s auditor’s office.  
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