Welcome to the Ohio Department of Agriculture

Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of the Ohio Department of Agriculture site. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.


Ohio Department of Agriculture Emerald Ash Borer Program

Ohio's EAB Quarantine & Regulations

Summary of "Quarantine"

  • It is illegal to move ash trees, ash logs, ash branches, ash wood chips, ash bark, and all hardwood firewood out of Ohio's quarantined areas. These materials can move freely within, but cannot leave, contiguous quarantined areas. See Rule 901:5-56-03.
  • Note: A federal quarantine prohibits the movement of ash tree materials and hardwood firewood out of the state of Ohio without federal certification.This does not change Ohio's quarantine, which still makes it illegal to take ash tree materials and hardwood firewood out of infested counties.
  • Quarantine, Compliance, and Firewood Movement Fact Sheets

Compliance Agreements for Businesses

  • Businesses or individuals wanting to move or accept ash trees, parts of an ash tree, or hardwood firewood from quarantined areas must first have an ODA compliance agreement. These signed agreements dictate handling practices to allow quarantined materials to move outside the quarantine area, but in a manner that does not risk continued spread of EAB.

Quarantined Areas (Quarantine Map)

  • Adams , Allen, Ashland, Ashtabula, Auglaize, Brown, Butler, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Coshocton, Cuyahoga, Defiance, Delaware, Erie, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Geauga, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Highland, Holmes, Huron, Knox, Lake, Lawrence, Licking, Logan, Lorain, Lucas, Madison, Mahoning, Marion, Medina, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Morrow, Ottawa, Paulding, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Portage, Putnam, Richland, Ross, Sandusky,Scioto, Seneca, Trumbull, Union, Summit, Van Wert, Warren, Wayne, Williams, Wood, and Wyandot
  • Entire states of Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, Michigan, and West Virginia; As well as portions of Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Wisconsin (per federal quarantine)

NOTE:   Latest expansions are in red. This summary does not substitute for the actual quarantine and the areas regulated within.  Please refer to Administrative Rules 901:5-56-01, 901:5-56-2, 901:5-56-03 and all public notices for complete official details. (Administrative Rules)

Public Notices